The Declaration for Social Democracy /  Limehouse Declaration 1

, , 1981


In stock

SKU: 3632. Category: . Tag: .

Product Description

The Declaration for Social Democracy, better known as the Limehouse Declaration issued by the former senior Labour ministers: Shirley Williams, Roy Jenkins, Bill Rodgers and David Owen(later known as The Gang of Four) on January 25th 1981. This example is a large broadside, printed on thick parchment paper, signed by all four of the gang and complete with SDP stamp. It is dated January 25th 1981, but was probably printed later that year to commemorate the event. It is a little toned with some minor marks. It is framed, with a border in the appropriate SDP colours. A handsome, remarkable object which represents the last major schism in British politics, though given the current political climate another might be imminent.